Saturday, March 18, 2006

[Avian Flu] Shell book available

Dear MLE interest group,
Several of you have shown interest in the below mentioned opportunity. I
just learned that an NGO has produced the shell-book in the Vasavi language.
The Vasavi-Kholchi tribe lives right in the centre of the place in
Maharashtra where the disease broke out. 5000 copies were printed and are
now under distribution.
Is anybody aware of other initiatives?
The website reference in the below message was not so detailed. The
following link is more direct:
http://www.sil.org/literacy/materials/health/avian_flu/index.htm

Regards,
Karsten
________________________________________
From: Karsten van Riezen (Education Consultant)
[mailto:karsten_van_riezen@sil.org]
Sent: Tuesday, February 21, 2006 10:21
To: 'Aarti Saihjee (asaihjee@unicef.org)'; 'Akemi Yonemura
(A.Yonemura@unesco.org)'; 'Cynthia Groff (cgroff@dolphin.upenn.edu)'; 'Dhir
jhingran IAS'; 'Krishna Kumar (kkkumar@giasdl01.vsnl.net.in)'; 'mahendra
kumar mishra'; 'Padma Velaskar'; 'PamelaJMackenzie
(PamelaJMackenzie@aol.com)'; Prof. C. J. Daswani (daswani@vsnl.com); 'Prof.
Neerja Shukla (neerjashukla@yahoo.com)'; 'Prof. R. K. Agnihotri
(agniirk@yahoo.com)'; 'Sachdeva, Prof. Rajesh (rajeshnehu@rediffmail.com)';
'Shri Vinoba Gautam (vgautam@unicef.org)'; 'Sujatha K.
(sujakalimili@yahoo.com)'
Subject: FW: [Avian Flu] Shell book available
Dear MLE Interest group,
The bird Flu came to India. Tribal communities are at risks since they often
do not have access to the relevant information. There is a shell book
available with lots of illustrations which can be translated into any
language. Is that something that could be done?
Regards,
Karsten
-----Original Message-----
From: Pat_Kelley@sil.org [mailto:Pat_Kelley@sil.org]
Sent: Sunday, February 19, 2006 01:24
To: k-i_van_riezen@sall.com
Subject: This could be important information

....
some of the folks in India perhaps would find the materials helpful that
we've posted on our website www.sil.org/literacy
The booklet, leaflet and posters on risk and prevention are made for
community/village level

working together.

Pat Kelley
International Literacy Coordinator
(972)  708 - 7385

No comments:

Post a Comment